Tuesday, January 08, 2008

It's Too Late To Enter...

But I thought you might like to read the past winner's stories.

THOROUGHBRED TIMES announced on Wednesday that it is sponsoring its Eighth Biennial Fiction Contest. Open to both professional and amateur writers, the fiction contest awards the winner $800 and their work will be published in a weekly edition of THOROUGHBRED TIMES in the spring of 2008.
The contest is designed to encourage fiction writing about Thoroughbred racing and to recognize outstanding work. The authors of the second- and third-place selections will receive $400 and $250, respectively, and their works will be published in the weekly magazine.
The work of fiction can pertain to any aspect of the Thoroughbred industry and must be 5,000 words or less. Entries must be submitted by December 31, 2007, and sent to THOROUGHBRED TIMES, Fiction Contest, P.O. Box 8237, Lexington, KY 40533.

2006 Winner: Root Doctor, by Scott T. Hutchison
2004 Winner: Arlen Gone, by Kevin Harrington
2002 Winner: It Can Happen Here, by Catherine Dupree
2000 Winner: The Painting, by Alan P. Henry
1998 Winner: Teaser, by Scott T. Hutchison
1996 Winner: The Passing of the Torch, by Avalyn Hunter
1993 Winner: The Hanging in the Foaling Barn, by Susan Starr Richards

1 comment:

Kara C. said...

Interesting. I think you should enter next year.